



Annual Council

20 May 2013

Subject: Review of the Allocation of Seats to Political Groups on Committees and Sub-Committees

Report by:	Chief Executive
Contact Officer:	Manjeet Gill – 01427 676500 Chief Executive E-Mail: <u>manjeet.gill@west-lindsey.gov.uk</u>
	Dinah Lilley Governance and Civic Officer 01427 676595 Dinah.lilley@west-lindsey.gov.uk
Purpose / Summary:	This report sets out the details of the political groups on the Council, the number of members to be appointed to serve on each committee and sub-committee and the allocation to different political groups of seats on the committees and sub-committees.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

- 1) that the details of political groups, as set out in Appendix A, be noted;
- 2) that the number of members to be appointed to serve on each committee and sub-committee be noted; and
- that the allocation to different political groups of seats on committees/sub-committees, as set out in Appendix B, be noted.

Legal : None directly arising as a result of this report.

Financial : None directly arising as a result of this report.

Staffing : None directly arising as a result of this report.

Equality and Diversity including Human Rights :

Risk Assessment : N/A

Climate Related Risks and Opportunities : N/A

Background Papers : The following background papers were used in the preparation of this report. If none were used then please state.

Title :	Location of Background Papers:

Call in and Urgency:

Is the decision one which Rule 14 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?

Yes	Νο	

Key Decision:

Yes	\checkmark	No
-----	--------------	----

1. Introduction

- 1.1 In accordance with the provisions of Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council is required to review the allocation to different political groups of seats on committees and sub-committees.
- 1.2 Existing political groups for the purposes of the Local Government (Committees & Political Groups) Regulations 1990 are as follows:

Group	No.	Leader/Spokesperson	Deputy Leaders
Conservative Group	21	Cllr J Summers	Cllr A Welburn
Liberal Democrat Group	10	Cllr R Shore	Cllr D Cotton
Independent Group	2	Cllr A Caine	Cllr C Darcel
Labour	2	Cllr N Bowler	Cllr R Doran

- 1.3 Councillor Mrs D M Rodgers, Independent, is not aligned to any Group, and Councillor G Wiseman, Independent, is not aligned to any Group.
- 1.4 The Council has delegated authority to the Chief Executive to agree, following consultation with the Group Leaders, the overall allocation of seats to groups resulting from the application of rounding.
- 1.5 Full details of membership are set out in Appendix A.

2. The Allocations

- 2.1 In accordance with the provisions of section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 (Duty to allocate seats to political groups), the Council is required to give effect, so far as reasonably practicable, to the following specified principles:
 - (a) that not all the seats on a committee/sub-committee are allocated to the same political group;
 - (b) that the majority of the seats on a committee/sub-committee are allocated to a particular political group where the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
 - (c) subject to paragraphs (a) and (b) above, that the number of seats on the ordinary committees which are allocated to each political group

bears the same proportion to the total of all the seats on the ordinary committees of that authority as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority;

- (d) subject to paragraphs (a) to (c) above, that the number of seats on the committee/sub-committee which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of all the seats on that committee/sub-committee as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority.
- 2.2 (b) above applies as there is a group with a majority of seats on the Council.
- 2.3 In order to give effect, so far as is **reasonably practicable**, to the principles specified above and in consultation with group leaders as required by the delegation, it has been determined that the best fit to meet the political balance rules is for the Planning Committee to comprise 12 Members, Prosperous Communities Committee, Policy and Resources, Licensing and Regulatory Committee, and Challenge and Improvement to comprise 11 Members, for Governance and Audit to comprise 10 Members, and Chief Officer Employment to comprise 9 Members, and the Taxi and General Licensing Sub-Committee to comprise 10 Members. The allocations have been calculated on this basis.

(Note: Legally, committees cannot exceed 15 members and sub-committees 10 members.)

- 2.4 All of the group leaders agree with the number of members appointed to serve on the committees/sub-committees.
- 2.5 Applying group numbers to the seats available on the committees and subcommittees gives the allocation set out in Appendix B, which is supported by the group leaders as the most reasonably practical in the circumstances.

APPENDIX A

Local Government & Housing Act 1989 The Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990

Political Groups on the District Council – May 2012

Conservative Group (21 Councillors)

Councillor Mrs G F Bardsley

Councillor O C Bierley

Councillor Mrs J Brockway

Councillor S Curtis

Councillor I G Fleetwood

Councillor P Howitt-Cowan

Councillor B Keimach

Councillor S F Kinch

Councillor Mrs A T Lawrence

Councillor G McNeill

Councillor Mrs J Milne

Councillor M J W Parish

Councillor Mrs I Parrott

Councillor W S R Parry

Councillor R M Patterson

Councillor Mrs S Rawlins

Councillor T Regis

Councillor C L Strange

Councillor J J Summers

Councillor C J Underwood-Frost

Councillor Mrs A Welburn

Labour Group (2 Councillors)

Councillor N Bowler

Councillor R P Doran

Liberal Democrat Group (10 Councillors)

Councillor M Binns

Councillor K Bridger

Councillor D J Cotton

Councillor D P Dobbie

Councillor M G Leaning

Councillor Mrs J A Rainsforth

Councillor Mrs. L. A. Rollings

Councillor R A Shore

Councillor M Tinker

Councillor T V Young

Independent Group (2 Councillors)

Councillor A D Caine

Councillor C J Darcel

Independent Member (1 Councillor)

Councillor Mrs D M Rodgers

Independent Member (1 Councillor)

Councillor G Wiseman

TABLE 1

	Cons	Lib Dem	Lab	Ind Grp	Ind Mbr (1)	Ind Mbr (2)	Total
Prosperous Communities (11)	6	3	1	-	1	-	11
Policy and Resources (11)	6	3	1	1	-	-	11
Governance and Audit (10)	6	3	-	-	-	1	10
Planning (12)	7	3	1	1	-	-	12
Chief Officer Employment (9)	5	3	-	1	-	-	9
Total no. of seats (53)	28	15	3	3	1	1	53
As a %	56.60%	28.30%	5.66%	5.66%	1.89%	1.89%	100%

<u>NOTES</u>: This would meet the criteria with the Conservatives having a majority on each Committee, followed by the Liberal Democrats having the next largest proportion and so on.

TABLE 2

	Cons	Lib Dem	Lab	Ind Grp	Ind Mbr (1)	Ind Mbr (2)	Total
Challenge and Improve (11)	6	3	1	1	0	0	11
Total no of seats as a %	54.55%	27.27%	9.09%	9.09%	0%	0%	100%

TABLE 3

	Cons	Lib Dem	Lab	Ind Grp	Ind Mbr (1)	Ind Mbr (2)	Total
Licensing and Regulatory (11)	6	3	1	1	0	0	11
Total no of seats as a %	54.55%	27.27%	9.09%	9.09%	0%	0%	100%

TABLE 4 – SUB CTTEES

	Cons	Lib Dem	Lab	Ind Grp	Ind Mbr (1)	Ind Mbr (2)	Total
Taxi and General Licensing (10)	5	3	0	0	1	1	10
Total no of seats as a %	50%	30%	0%	0%	10%	10%	100%