

Annual Meeting of Council

20 May 2013

Subject: Appointment of Committees

Report by:

Contact Officer:

Chief Executive

Manjeet Gill Chief Executive 01427 676501 manjeet.gill@west-lindsey.gov.uk

Dinah Lilley Governance and Civic Officer 01427 676595 dinah.lilley@west-lindsey.gov.uk

Purpose / Summary:

This report sets out the wishes expressed by political groups in respect of appointment of Members to serve on the Committees of the Council.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

1) In accordance with the provisions of Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, members be appointed to serve on the Council's committees for the 2013/14 civic year.

IMPLICATIONS

Legal: In accordance with the provisions of Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups

Financial : None directly arising as a result of this report.

Staffing : None directly arising as a result of this report.

Equality and Diversity including Human Rights : None

Risk Assessment : N/A

Climate Related Risks and Opportunities : N/A

Background Papers :

The following background papers were used in the preparation of this report.

Title :	Location of Background Papers:	
Notices received from the Group Leaders on the allocation of Committee/ Sub-Committee places	Committee Admin Filing System	

Call in and Urgency:

Is the decision one which Rule 14 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?

Yes		No	\checkmark	
Key Decision:				
Yes		Νο		

1. Introduction

1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 Challenge and Improvement Committee (11 members)

Councillor Nigel Bowler Councillor Jackie Brockway Councillor Alan Caine Councillor Stuart Curtis Councillor David Dobbie Councillor Paul-Howitt-Cowan Councillor Angela Lawrence Councillor Malcolm Leaning Councillor Sue Rawlins Councillor Lewis Strange Councillor Mick Tinker

2.2 Chief Officer Employment Committee (9 Members)

Councillor Jackie Brockway Councillor Alan Caine Councillor David Cotton Councillor Giles McNeill Councillor Tom Regis Councillor Lesley Rollings Councillor Reg Shore Councillor Jeff Summers Councillor Anne Welburn

2.3 Planning Committee (12 members)

Councillor Owen Bierley Councillor Alan Caine Councillor David Cotton Councillor Stuart Curtis Councillor Richard Doran Councillor Ian Fleetwood Councillor Malcolm Leaning Councillor Giles McNeill Councillor Jessie Milne Councillor Roger Patterson Councillor Judy Rainsforth Councillor Chris Underwood-Frost

2.4 Governance and Audit Committee (10 Members)

Councillor Gillian Bardsley Councillor Kenneth Bridger Councillor Jackie Brockway Councillor David Dobbie Councillor Malcolm Leaning Councillor Giles McNeill Councillor Roger Patterson Councillor Sue Rawlins Councillor Di Rodgers Councillor Anne Welburn

2.5 Licensing and Regulatory Committee (11 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley Councillor Mark Binns Councillor David Cotton Councillor Chris Darcel Councillor Richard Doran Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan Councillor Jessie Milne Councillor Irmgard Parrott Councillor Roger Patterson Councillor Judy Rainsforth Councillor Lewis Strange

2.6 **Policy and Resources Committee (11 Members)**

Councillor Owen Bierley Councillor Kenneth Bridger Councillor Nigel Bowler Councillor David Cotton Councillor Chris Darcel Councillor Ian Fleetwood Councillor Burt Keimach Councillor Stuart Kinch Councillor Tom Regis Councillor Reg Shore Councillor Jeff Summers

2.7 **Prosperous Communities Committee (11 Members)**

Councillor Gillian Bardsley Councillor David Dobbie Councillor Richard Doran Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan Councillor Malcolm Parish Councillor William Parry Councillor Irmgard Parrott Councillor Lesley Rollings Councillor Lewis Strange Councillor Trevor Young Councillor Geoff Wiseman