

Council

22 October 2012

Subject: Appointment of Committees				
Report by:	Chief Executive			
Contact Officer:	Manjeet Gill Chief Executive 01427 676501 <u>manjeet.gill@west-lindsey.gov.uk</u> Dinah Lilley Democratic Services Team Leader 01427 676595 <u>dinah.lilley@west-lindsey.gov.uk</u>			
Purpose / Summary:	This report sets out the wishes expressed by political groups in respect of appointment of Members to serve on the Committees of the Council following the loss of Councillor Ray Sellars and the subsequent by election on 6 September 2012.			

RECOMMENDATION(S):

1) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, members be appointed to serve to the Council's committees for the remainder of the 2012/13 civic year.

IMPLICATIONS

Legal: In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups

Financial : none directly arising as a result of this report.

Staffing : None directly arising as a result of this report.

Equality and Diversity including Human Rights : *NB: A full impact assessment* **HAS TO BE** attached if the report relates to any new or revised policy or revision to service delivery/introduction of new services.

Risk Assessment :

Climate Related Risks and Opportunities :

Background Papers :

The following background papers were used in the preparation of this report.

Title :	Location of Background Papers:		

Call in and Urgency:

Is the decision one which Rule 14 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?

Yes		No	\checkmark	
Key Decis	ion:			
Yes		No	\checkmark	

1. Introduction

1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 Planning Committee (12 members)

Councillor Owen Bierley Councillor Alan Caine Councillor David Cotton Councillor Stuart Curtis Councillor Richard Doran Councillor Ian Fleetwood Councillor Malcolm Leaning Councillor Malcolm Leaning Councillor Giles McNeill Councillor Jessie Milne Councillor Roger Patterson Councillor Judy Rainsforth Councillor Chris Underwood-Frost

2.2 Governance and Audit Committee (10 Members)

- Councillor Kenneth Bridger Councillor Jackie Brockway Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan Councillor David Dobbie Councillor Malcolm Leaning Councillor Giles McNeill Councillor William Parry
- **Councillor Sue Rawlins**
- **Councillor Di Rodgers**
- Councillor Anne Welburn

2.3 **Prosperous Communities Committee (11 Members)**

Councillor Gillian Bardsley Councillor Nigel Bowler Councillor Jackie Brockway Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan Councillor Malcolm Parish Councillor Judy Rainsforth Councillor Lesley Rollings Councillor Lewis Strange Councillor Jeff Summers Councillor Trevor Young Councillor Geoff Wiseman