



Council

9 September 2013

Subject: Appointment of Committees

Report by: Chief Executive

Contact Officer: Manjeet Gill

Chief Executive 01427 676501

manjeet.gill@west-lindsey.gov.uk

Dinah Lilley

Democratic Services Team Leader

01427 676595

dinah.lilley@west-lindsey.gov.uk

Purpose / Summary: This report sets out the wishes expressed by

political groups in respect of appointment of Members to serve on the Challenge and

Improvement Committee.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

1) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, members be appointed to serve on the Council's committees, subcommittees and working groups for the remainder of the 2013/14 civic year.

IMPLICATIONS

Yes

Legal: In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups	
Financial: none directly arising as a result of this report.	
Staffing: None directly arising as a result of this report.	
Equality and Diversity including Human Rights : None	
Risk Assessment :	
Climate Related Risks and Opportunities :	
Background Papers :	
The following background papers were used in the preparation of this report.	
Title:	Location of Background Papers:
Call in and Urgency:	
Is the decision one which Rule 14 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?	
Yes	No $\sqrt{}$
Key Decision:	

No

1. Introduction

- 1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).
- 1.2 The Leader of the Conservative Group has given notification that he wishes to change the membership of the Challenge and Improvement Committee.

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 Challenge and Improvement Committee (11 members)

Councillor Alan Caine (Chairman)

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan (Vice Chair)

Councillor Nigel Bowler (Vice Chair)

Councillor Stuart Curtis

Councillor David Dobbie

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Malcolm Leaning

Councillor Roger Patterson

Councillor Sue Rawlins

Councillor Lewis Strange

Councillor Mick Tinker