### WEST LINDSEY DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES of a Meeting of the Prosperous Communities Committee held in the Council Chamber at the Guildhall, Gainsborough on Monday 23 May 2011 at the Conclusion of the Annual Meeting of Council.

Present: Councillor William Parry (Chairman of Council) (In

the Chair)

Councillor Gillian Bardsley Councillor Nigel Bowler Councillor David Dobbie

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor Stuart Kinch
Councillor Malcolm Parish
Councillor Lesley Rollings
Councillor Ray Sellars
Councillor Lewis Strange
Councillor Jeff Summers
Councillor Geoff Wiseman
Councillor Trevor Young

### 1 APOLOGIES

Apologies were submitted by Councillor Jackie Brockway, no substitution was appointed.

### 2 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

**RESOLVED** that Councillor Malcolm Parish be appointed Chairman of the Committee for the 2011/12 civic year.

Councillor Malcolm Parish took the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

## 3 TO AGREE TO THE APPOINTMENT OF TWO VICE - CHAIRMEN

The Chairman introduced the item, and explained the rationale behind it.

Clarification was sought on the necessity of having two Vice Chairmen for the Prosperous Communities Committee and what the remuneration implications were to be. It was stated that the Committee was effectively the amalgamation of Economic Development and Regeneration and Community and Waste Committees so the workload was expected to be substantial, and it was anticipated that the two Vice Chair roles would develop independently. The Remuneration Panel were due to meet and consider the matter in due course, but in the meantime the Special Responsibility Allowance would be matched.

**RESOLVED** that the appointment of two Vice-Chairmen to serve on the Prosperous Communities committee be agreed.

## 4 ELECTION OF TWO VICE-CHAIRMEN

**RESOLVED** that Councillor Jeff Summers and Councillor Gillian Bardsley be appointed as Vice-Chairmen of the Committee for the 2011/12 civic year.

# 5 TIME OF COMMENCEMENT OF MEETINGS

**RESOLVED** that the normal commencement time for meetings of the Committee be 7.00 pm.

The meeting concluded at 9.05 pm.

Chairman