

Council

25 January 2016

Subject: Change to Committee and Working Group Membership			
Report by:	Manjeet Gill Chief Executive 01427 676501 <u>manjeet.gill@west-lindsey.gov.uk</u>		
Contact Officer:	Alan Robinson Strategic Lead for Democratic and Business Support and Monitoring Officer 01427 676509 <u>alan.robinson@west-lindsey.gov.uk</u>		
Purpose / Summary:	This report sets out the wishes expressed by the ruling group in respect of appointment of Members to serve on the Prosperous Communities Committee and the Commercial Steering Group.		

RECOMMENDATION(S):

- 1) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by the ruling group, members be appointed to serve to the Prosperous Communities committee for the remainder of the 2015/16 civic year,
- 2) An additional Member appointment to the Commercial Steering Group.

IMPLICATIONS

Legal: In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups

Financial: FIN/118/16 none directly arising as a result of this report.

Staffing: None directly arising as a result of this report.

Equality and Diversity including Human Rights : None

Risk Assessment : N/A

Climate Related Risks and Opportunities : N/A

Background Papers :

The following background papers were used in the preparation of this report.

Title :	Location of Background Papers:
Notices received from the Group Leader	rs on the allocation of Committee/ Sub-
Committee places	

Call in and Urgency:

Is the decision one which Rule 14 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?

Yes		No	X		
Key Decision:					
Yes		No	X		

1. Introduction

1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 At the Annual Council meeting on 21 May 2015 the following Councillors were appointed to the Prosperous Communities Committee membership (minute 13 refers).

2.2 **Prosperous Communities Committee (12 Members)**

- Councillor Owen Bierley Councillor Gillian Bardsley Councillor Jessie Milne Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan Councillor Lewis Strange Councillor Steve England Councillor Adam Duguid Councillor Hugo Marfleet Councillor Mrs Di Rodgers Councillor Mrs Di Rodgers Councillor Michael Devine Councillor Lesley Rollings Councillor Trevor Young
- 2.3 The Administration would now like to make a change to the Membership of the above Committee, and replace Councillor Hugo Marfleet with Councillor Malcolm Parish.
- 2.4 The new membership would therefore comprise:-Councillor Owen Bierley Councillor Gillian Bardsley Councillor Jessie Milne Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan Councillor Lewis Strange Councillor Steve England Councillor Adam Duguid Councillor Malcolm Parish Councillor Mrs Di Rodgers Councillor Michael Devine Councillor Lesley Rollings Councillor Trevor Young

3 Commercial Steering Group

3.1 At the Annual Council meeting on 21 May 2015 the following Councillors were appointed to the Commercial Steering Group membership (minute 14 refers).

Councillor Owen Bierley Councillor Tom Regis Councillor Adam Duguid Councillor Jeff Summers

3.2 The Administration would now like to include an additional Member to the Commercial Steering Group, namely Councillor Stuart Kinch.

4. Recommendation

- 4.1 That Councillor Malcolm Parish be appointed to the Prosperous Communities Committee
- 4.2 That Councillor Stuart Kinch be appointed to the Commercial Steering Group.