WEST LINDSEY DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the Meeting of Extraordinary Council held in the Council Chamber at the Guildhall, Gainsborough, on Monday 8 September 2014, at 8pm.

Present: Councillor Malcolm Parish (In the Chair)

Councillor Gillian Bardsley Councillor Burt Keimach
Councillor Owen Bierley Councillor Angela Lawrence
Councillor Nigel Bowler Councillor Malcolm Leaning

Councillor Ken Bridger Councillor Pat Mewis Councillor Jackie Brockway Councillor Giles McNeill Councillor Alan Caine Councillor Jessie Milne The Revd Councillor David Cotton Councillor Di Rodgers Councillor Reg Shore Councillor Stuart Curtis Councillor Chris Darcel Councillor Lewis Strange Councillor Chris Day Councillor Jeff Summers Councillor David Dobbie Councillor Anne Welburn Councillor Richard Doran Councillor Geoff Wiseman Councillor Ian Fleetwood Councillor Trevor Young

Apologies: Councillor Sue Rawlins (vice chairman) (on Civic business)

Councillor Mark Binns

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan Councillor Irmgard Parrott Councillor Roger Patterson Councillor Judy Rainsforth Councillor Tom Regis Councillor Lesley Rollings Councillor Mick Tinker

In Attendance:

Manjeet Gill Chief Executive

Ian Knowles Director of Resources
Penny Sharp Commercial Director

Alan Robinson Head of Central Services and Monitoring Officer

Dinah Lilley Governance and Civic Officer
Nicola Calver Governance and Civic Officer

43 MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The majority of Members knew both nominees, they having previously been Councillors, however it was not necessary to declare an interest as due to the nature of the requirements for eligibility this was inevitable.

Councillor McNeill declared that he also knew nominee 2 through the local Parish Council.

44 EXCLUSION OF PUBLIC AND PRESS

RESOLVED that under Section 100 (A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public and press be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Act.

45 CONSIDERATION OF ALDERMAN NOMINATIONS

The Head of Central Services presented Members with a report asking Council to consider received nominations for the titled roles of Honorary Alderman.

Appointing to these positions was a power given to Councils, and it was their decision whether they wished to exercise these powers or not. It was a right given that nominations could be received by Councils, and therefore a process and criteria needed to be defined in order to manage a received nomination. The roles, limitations, criteria and processes for the titles of Honorary Alderman, Honorary Freeman, and Honorary Freedom of Entry had been agreed in January 2013, after much debate in Member meetings, Committees and Council.

Two nominations had been received and managed through the agreed process and were presented to Council for consideration of whether they wished to bestow the titles to the nominees.

The proposers of each of the nominees spoke briefly to describe why they felt that the nominations were deserved and worthy of recognition, and the sentiments were echoed by some other Councillors. Clarification was sought as to the possibility of removal of the honour should the need arise in a case of misconduct, this was affirmed.

Cllr McNeill wished for thanks to be recorded for the work of the Honours Panel.

Two Members of the Council called for a recorded vote.

On consideration of nomination 1 the vote was as follows:

For: Councillors Bierley, Bowler, Bridger, Caine, Cotton, Darcel, Dobbie, Leaning, Shore, Young.

Against: Councillors Bardsley, Brockway, Curtis, Day, Fleetwood, Keimach, Kinch, Lawrence, McNeill, Mewis, Milne, Rodgers, Strange, Summers, Welburn and Wiseman.

Abstained: Councillors Doran and Parish.

A total of 10 votes for, 16 against and two abstentions.

West Lindsey District Council – 8 September 2014

RESOLVED that the nomination be declined.

On consideration of nomination 2 the vote was as follows:

For: Councillors Bierley, Bowler, Bridger, Caine, Cotton, Darcel, Dobbie, Leaning, Shore, Young.

Against: Councillors Bardsley, Brockway, Curtis, Day, Fleetwood, Keimach, Kinch, Lawrence, McNeill, Mewis, Milne, Rodgers, Strange, Summers, Welburn and Wiseman.

Abstained: Councillors Doran and Parish.

A total of 10 votes for, 16 against and two abstentions.

RESOLVED that the nomination be declined.

The meeting concluded at 8.28pm.

Chairman