

Council

Monday, 24 January 2022

Subject: Appointment Of Committees and to Re-affirm Committee

Chairmen/ Vice-Chairmen for the remainder of the 21/22 Civic

Year

Report by: Monitoring Officer

Contact Officer: Katie Storr

Democratic Services & Elections Team Manager

katie.storr@west-lindsey.gov.uk

Purpose / Summary: This report sets out the wishes expressed by

political groups in respect of appointment of Members to serve on the Committees of the

Council.

The report further seeks to re-affirm the appointments of Chairmen and Vice/Chairmen for the remainder of the 21/22 civic year.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

- (1) That the rules relating to proportionality be suspended in relation to the Overview and Scrutiny Committee; and
- (2) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, Members be appointed to serve to the Council's Committees for the remainder of the civic year as set out within this report;
- 3) The current committee Chairmen, and Vice-Chairmen (shown throughout the report and summarised in table 1) be re-affirmed

IMPLICATIONS

Legal:

In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups

Financial: FIN/164/22/TJB

Special responsibility allowances for the proposed Chairs and Vice Chairs are met from the Members Allowance budget.

Staffing:

None directly arising as a result of this report.

Equality and Diversity including Human Rights:

None directly arising as a result of this report.

Data Protection Implications:

None directly arising as a result of this report.

Climate Related Risks and Opportunities:

None directly arising as a result of this report.

Section 17 Crime and Disorder Considerations:

None directly arising as a result of this report.

Health Implications:

None directly arising as a result of this report.

Title and Location of any Background Papers used in the preparation of this report:

Notices received from the Group Leaders on the allocation of Committee/ Sub-Committee places – documents available from the Guildhall, Gainsborough (on request).

Risk Assessment:

Call in and Urgency:			
Is the decision one which Rule 14	.7 of the Se	crutiny Procedure	Rules apply?
i.e. is the report exempt from being called in due to urgency (in consultation with C&I chairman)	Yes	No	
Key Decision:			
A matter which affects two or more wards, or has significant financial implications	Yes	No	

1. Introduction

- 1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).
- 1.2 Section 2 details the wishes expressed by the political groups.

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 Chief Officer Employment Committee (9 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley

Councillor Jackie Brockway Chairman

Vice-Chairman

Vice-Chairman

Councillor Stephen Bunney

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Diana Rodgers

Councillor Lesley Rollings

Councillor Anne Welburn

Councillor Angela White

Councillor Trevor Young

2.2 Corporate Policy and Resources Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley

Councillor Matt Boles

Councillor Stephen Bunney

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Ian Fleetwood

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor John McNeill

Councillor Tom Regis

Councillor Mandy Snee

Councillor Jeff Summers

Councillor Bob Waller

Councillor Anne Welburn Chairman

Councillor Trevor Young

2.3 Governance and Audit Committee (7 Members)

Councillor Jackie Brockway Vice-Chairman

Councillor Stephen Bunney

Councillor Tracey Coulson

Councillor Chris Darcel

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor John McNeill Chairman

Councillor Angela White

2.4 Licensing Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Tim Davies

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Cordelia McCartney

Councillor Jessie Milne

Councillor Peter Morris

Councillor Keith Panter

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Diana Rodgers

Councillor Jim Snee

Councillor Jeff Summers

Vice-Chairman

Chairman

2.5 Regulatory Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Tim Davies

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Cordelia McCartney

Councillor Jessie Milne

Councillor Peter Morris

Councillor Keith Panter

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Diana Rodgers

Councillor Jim Snee

Councillor Jeff Summers

Vice-Chairman

Chairman

2.6 Planning Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Matt Boles

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor David Dobbie

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor Ian Fleetwood

Councillor Cherie Hill

Councillor Cordelia McCartney

Councillor Jessie Milne

Councillor Peter Morris

Councillor Roger Patterson

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Chairman

Councillor Jeff Summers Councillor Bob Waller Councillor Angela White

Vice-Chairman

2.7 Prosperous Communities Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley Chairman

Councillor Stephen Bunney

Councillor Tracey Coulson Vice-Chairman

Councillor Chris Darcel Councillor Mick Devine Councillor Jane Ellis Councillor Steve England

Councillor John McNeill Vice-Chairman

Councillor Jessie Milne
Councillor Jaime Oliver
Councillor Roger Patterson
Councillor Jim Snee
Councillor Mandy Snee
Councillor Trevor Young

3. Suspension of Political Balance

The Council can, by way of a separate vote, agree to not apply the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 to a Committee or Committees. Requests have been received from both Group Leaders that the Overview and Scrutiny Committee be not politically balanced.

The proposed unbalanced Committee Membership is set out below.

3.1 Overview and Scrutiny Committee (11 members) -

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor David Dobbie

Councillor Tim Davies

Councillor Caralyne Grimble.

Councillor Cherie Hill

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Keith Panter

Councillor Roger Patterson

Councillor Diana Rodgers Vice-Chairman
Councillor Lesley Rollings Chairman
Councillor Angela White Vice-Chairman

Should this proposal not be unanimously supported the Committee will have to be balanced. The Chairmanships for this committee will also be amended in the event a balanced committee is agreed.

4. Committee Chairmen and Vice-Chairmenships

- 4.1 Whilst the Council has had the need to re-appoint the Committees in accordance with its duty to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups), all Group Leaders have indicated they have no wish to amend the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmenship appointments previously made,
- 4.2 This report therefore merely seeks the re-affirmation of these positions
- 4.3 The positions and nominations are summarised below for ease.

Table 1

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman/men
Chief Officer	Councillor Jackie	Councillor Mick Devine
Employment	Brockway	
Corporate Policy and	Councillor Anne	Councillor Jeff Summers
Resources	Welburn	
Planning	Councillor lan Fleetwood	Councillor Robert Waller
Governance and Audit	Councillor John	Councillor Jackie
Governance and Addit	McNeill	Brockway
Licensing	Councillor Jessie Milne	Councillor Angela
		Lawrence
Overview and Scrutiny	Councillor Lesley	Councillor Diana Rodgers
	Rollings	Councillor Angela White
Regulatory	Councillor Jessie Milne	Councillor Angela
		Lawrence
Prosperous	Councillor Owen	Councillor Tracey
Communities	Bierley	Coulson
		Councillor John McNeill